Showing posts with label opinions. Show all posts
Showing posts with label opinions. Show all posts

7.09.2013

Top 5 Trends I Just Can't Get On Board With...

Recently, I've noticed some fashion looks evolving. I'm not one to follow trends because I always choose comfort over anything else. Plus, I'm cheap and would rather wear what I have than go out and buy something that everyone else is wearing too.

Most trends I see, I love. I think they're cute and fun and most people seem to be able to pull them off. However, there are a few trends that I can't help but wonder who came up with these things. Don't get me wrong, some people can pull them off and look good. But I just don't know how they came to be!

No judgement, just my opinions. Read along...

Camo - Some people can pull this off. For example - this girl. She actually looks cute in this. But I still can't help but wonder who thought it would be a good idea to dress like we belong on the Duck Dynasty cast?


Floral leggings - I'm all about leggings. They're comfy, they can be paired with most anything. But throwing flowers on them? No thank you, but I would like to NOT accentuate my big ass anymore than it already is.


Headbands worn on forehead - It seems very boho chic to me, which is cool and all. But it seems a little too hippy-ish to me. Plus, that doesn't look very comfortable at all. Talk about a major hair crease.


Front tuck - I'm sorry, but this looks incredibly lazy. It looks like your shirt was completely tucked in, but after you went to the restroom, you forget to tuck it all back in.

Wedge sneakers - Just no. This has to be my least favorite. I'm all about a good pair of wedges. Love adding some height without having to succumb to an uncomfortable pair of heels. But a sneaker wedge? Just no. Please don't.


Do you guys think these trends are on spot? Can you pull any of these off?
What are some trends that you just can't get on board with?

3.05.2013

Makeup Remover Wipes {My Fave + Reviews}

When it comes to removing my makeup, I am adamant about making sure it's all off before I go to bed. Even on those nights I've had a few too many drinks and all I want to do is fall flat on my face in bed, I still take off my makeup first. It's so important!

I've tried many different removers, and I have found that the liquid ones are usually too oily so I prefer the wipes instead. I'm reviewing 4 of them here today for you, so you'll know which works best for me. Hopefully this will give you a little insight if you're debating on trying the wipes as well.


I actually received these as a perk from Klout last year. I was very excited to try them out because I love Aveeno products. They have lots of products for babies, so I figure if it's safe enough to use for babies, it's probably OK for my face. Plus, I use some of their lotion for my dry skin and it's heaven sent.

The verdict:
The smell is great. They're smooth and take off my makeup with ease. They did leave quite a bit of oily residue behind though. If I'm washing my face immediately after (which is usually the case), then it's not a problem. But, if I'm doing a quick cleanse of my face, it feels too oily to NOT at least rinse with water. I'm happy I had the chance to try these out, but I'm not 100% sure that I'd purchase on my own.



I picked these up to try at Target a few months ago because I'd heard lots of great things about the "Yes to insert-fruit-name-here.." line and wanted to try it for myself. Blueberry sounded clean and refreshing so I thought, why not?

The verdict:
The smell is AWFUL. I mean, I expected a slight sweet smell, but these were almost overpowering. I would hold my breath while using the product. It did take off my make-up, but I had to scrub a little and tug at my eyes more than I wanted to. I would not buy these again if I ran out of wipes.



Again, I had heard great things and I thought I'd give the cucumber ones a shot after I hated the blueberry ones. I figured maybe they'd work a little better and not smell as bad. I wanted to at least give this brand the benefit of the doubt.

The verdict:
This smell was pretty pleasant actually. However, using these wipes burns the you know what out of my eyes. Most times, after I wiped one side of my face down, it would be burning so badly that I'd have to rinse that side before I could cleanse the other side. Also, like I said on the blueberry ones, I had to tug a bit to get all the gunk off my face. Not a fan. Most likely would not repurchase.



Remember using the old school Neutrogena face wash in high school? (do they still make that stuff?) well, I loved it! It worked so well, and the smell was so minty fresh. I knew any product they made would be just as good. So.. I picked these up!

The verdict:
Hands down, my favorite makeup remover wipe out there. I was entirely too excited when I found a 50 ct plus 7 ct travel size on clearance at Target the other day. I snatched them right up. These don't have much of a smell, which I can appreciate. Also, it removes my makeup easily and I don't have to pull at my skin to remove it. It leaves a tiny bit of residue behind if I don't wash my face immediately, but it will usually dry up pretty quickly.
Disclaimer: I am no beauty expert by any means. I just know what I like and what works for me.
Disclaimer #2: This wasn't sponsored by any of the above brands. I just liked the idea of blogging about these things.

Have you used any of the above products? If so, what did you like about them? What makeup remover do you swear by?

2.19.2013

That time I blogged about a skirt

I was perusing the aisles at Old Navy with my little sister. I had nothing in mind that I needed to buy, but of course I'll still looking because I just know that there is something out there on those racks that I NEED in my closet. ;)

So while my sister is in the dressing room, I see a skirt across the way, and in a weird way I'm just drawn to it. I mean, it's way cute, and there's a sign above the rack stating that the skirts on the rack are 25% off right now. That's all I need in order to be sold. A deal? okay, it's mine. 

I grabbed it off the rack and didn't even try it on. I just bought it and took it home thinking of which shirts I already own that would match my new skirt perfectly. I was really excited.

Oh, it was also a maxi skirt. Do you know how hard it is for a girl who is less than 5 foot tall (that's me!) to find a maxi skirt?? It's incredibly hard, just in case you were curious.

I get home and go to take off the tags and hang it up in my closet when I see that I had in fact purchased a maternity skirt. At first, I thought, OMG how embarrassing? And what if it fits? OMG I'll just die. 

Then I got to thinking.. is there really a difference between maternity clothing and non-maternity clothing? It's all the same, just some stretches more, right? I mean, I feel like that's logical.

So then, I just said eff it. I don't care if this is maternity because you know why? It's the most amazing piece of clothing I've ever put on my body. I may even continue wearing maternity clothes if I wanna!


And ya know what. I'm gonna keep wearing it. I may even peruse the maternity aisles on PURPOSE. Who knows. All I know is I'm comfortable and still felt cute. Those are 2 important qualities to me, in what I wear. So, I'm happy. 


You definitely don't have to be pregnant. ;)

12.24.2012

Top 5 Favorite 2012 Purchases!

I got to thinking the other day about some purchases I made this year that I don't want to live without ever again. I wanted to share with y'all what I consider my top 5 favorite purchases of 2012. Hopefully you already have these items, if not - get them! ;)

First up:


I am beyond happy that I was able to purchase and use the Bare Minerals collection. The lady at Sephora even helped color match me, and pick out what I needed. I had a pretty awesome experience. And the makeup? It's unlike any other makeup I've used. I feel like I have full coverage that isn't cakey at all on my face. It's very light and airy, actually.

Hands down, best makeup purchase of 2012.

Next:


After years of wearing old tennis shoes that hurt my feet, I decided it was time to invest in a good pair. I'm so picky about tennis shoes though. They have to fit just perfect. I splurged a bit on a pair of runners' shoes from Saucony, and boy am I happy I did. They are so incredibly comfortable and lightweight. They help keep my feet supported and are just all around perfect for any type of shoe.

Holla! Best shoe purchase of 2012.

Also:


For the longest time, I saw people putting their hair in sock buns. I was jealous because I loved the style and simplicity of it. I couldn't do it, and just assumed it was because my hair is so thin. Then, I found what I'd been looking for my hole life at Ulta. The Mia will do what you want to do with your hair! AND? The best part.. is my hair will look like a dirty hot mess, but I throw my Mia bun in there and walah! It looks presentable for any type of situation. It's a dream.

Definitely - best hair care purchase of 2012.

Next:


I had lusted over a Macbook for a while, mainly because I always want what others already have. My Dell was working fine though, so I felt no reason to buy a new computer. Lo and behold, my Dell crashed out on me. It would've cost the amount to get it fixed that I would be able to get a new computer. Luckily, my sweet friend Kiley was selling her older model Macbook. Done and Done. I bought it from her immediately and have kinda sorta fallin' in love with Apple since. It's fun to learn.

Oh yeah - best technology purchase of 2012.

Then:


I've wanted an iPhone for as long as I can remember. However my upgrade never fell in the right spot. Until...... I dropped my lovely android into the pool. The damage was done. It wasn't able to be fixed :( I was sad yes, but then I remembered I could get an iPhone!! Was able to come over to the dark side and be a part of the Apple family this past summer. And I. Love. It. iPhone = Life.

For sure, best smartphone purchase of 2012.

What purchases did you make this year that you just couldn't imagine going into 2013 without?

11.21.2012

Let's talk about what we are REALLY thankful for..

Okay, so last year I got all cheesy on you listing what I was thankful for. The holidays just make me sentimental. I start loving everyone more, and blah blah blah.

I mean it's quite obvs that I'm thankful for these lovely bunch of coconuts.


Don't get me wrong. I am SO thankful for those in my life, and I do my best to tell them every single day.

But, I want to know what you're really grateful for. Those little things that don't even really matter. The things no one admits to because it puts them at risk of sounding superficial.

Today, I don't even care y'all.. so here's my "What I'm Thankful for on Thanksgiving Eve" post.

I'm thankful for Instagram filters. Some days I just can't quite blend my concealer over that blemish or under my eyes quite right. What would look like an awful selfie turns into a fabulous art all thanks to IG. Problem solved.

I'm thankful for Xanax. I can't tell you how many times I've been on the verge of a legit full-on conniption fit, and I've popped one of these babies and it's like my world gets a little hazy and things seem better again. 

I'm thankful that my dog doesn't eat a lot. Don't worry, he isn't starving he's just a small dog who doesn't require a ton of food during the day. Thank goodness because Mama only buys that organic expensive shit for her baby. 

I'm thankful for wine. And lots of it. Wine oh wine, how you make me feel so fine. (I promise I'm not wine drunk right now. Ask me again though later tonight.) Rawr!

I'm thankful for coffee. And yes, Starbucks coffee in particular. People complain about it being overpriced, well duh. But it's so damn delicious I can't stop spending $5 for a cup of coffee. I'm convinced the 'bucks puts crack in their coffee beans. Just convinced!

I'm thankful for peppermint gum. After I've scarfed down something edible in between patients, the last thing I want is for them to be able to tell what I just ate. Gum to the rescue! Wait.. maybe my patients are actually the ones who should be thankful for this?!

I'm thankful for my iPhone. I mean, honestly.. how else am I going to waste hours upon hours on twitter, pinterest and playing Coin Dozer? Exactly!

I'm thankful that calories don't count on holidays. Seriously. And don't tell me they really do because you'll totally just be raining on my parade.

I'm thankful for the snooze button. Let's face it, I am not the biggest morning person. Having the ability to punch a quick button to gain an extra 10 minutes of sleep is like heaven to me.


Now I challenge you to tell me, what are you REALLY thankful for this year? ;)

Happy thanksgiving eve, my little turkeys!!

XOXO

11.05.2012

Smelly Goodness

I'm a HUGE lover of Scentsy. BUT my sister knocked over my warmer and broke my dish, so until I get my replacement in, I can't use it anyway!

BUT there is one thing that I just can NOT pass up. 

And that, my friends, is the Bath & Body Works 2 for $20 3 wick candle sale. 



These babies are regularly $20 a piece, so it's like getting one for free! And if you know me, you know I like free. :)

I went into Bath & Body Works this past weekend to hit up the sale, and I got one for me and one for Nate. Because I'm a sweet girlfriend like that.

For myself, I got the lavender vanilla. I LOVE vanilla, but alone it's sometimes too sweet and overpowering, so I figured combined with lavender it'd be perfect. Plus, I read once that lavender helps you relax and sleep better, so I love that.

I'm burning it right now, and my room smells like heaven. If it wasn't a hazard, I probably wouldn't blow it out when I go to sleep.

Nate loves candles too, but he's very picky about what scents he'll burn. He doesn't want his place to smell "too girly" (psh, men!) but he doesn't want it to be too strong either. So, I got him mahogany teakwood. Weird name, but it smells amazing.

My favorite thing about these candles is not only the scents, but since there are 3 wicks, it burns SO evenly. No more lopsided candles, it's amazing. And? They last foreverrr! 

Do you shop this sale too? What are some of your favorite candle scents?

Disclaimer: I wasn't paid or anything by B&BW to write this post, I just really dig their candles.

Oh, and I'm linking up with my girl, Meg for Mingle Monday! :)


Mingle 240

10.03.2012

Political Coffee?

A funny little story for y'all today...

Most mornings I go to Starbucks for my coffee, but last week on my way to work I saw a sign out in front of the 7-Eleven that I pass each morning. It said that on Friday (last week) from 6am - 10am they were giving each customer a free large coffee. SOLD! I love free shit. ;)

So, Friday morning instead of going out of my way to Starbucks like I do each morning, I stopped at the 7-Eleven near work for my morning cup o' joe.

It was crazy busy, as expected, so I took my spot in line near the coffee center.

I finally had inched myself close enough to the cups and grabbed one, waiting for the person in front of me to finish pouring his cup.

I grabbed the pot, poured my coffee, and started doctoring it up. I like a little coffee with my cream and sugar. ;)

All of a sudden, the man standing across from me says, "Oh, so you're for Romney, huh?"

I said, "Umm, excuse me?" thinking this was a very random question from a perfect stranger.

He then nods and points towards my cup, and I see this:


I looked at my cup for a second, and said, "Umm, I just wanted some coffee."

The girl standing next to him said, "Well, I had a Romney cup & dumped that out to get an Obama cup."

To which I replied, "I didn't even notice the coffee cups had the candidates on them, I'm in a hurry to get to work just like the rest of you, and I just wanted some coffee!"

I found it kind of funny, but at the same time I can't help but think why we have to turn everything into some political. Can't even get a cup of coffee these days without being judged based on policital preferences. A bit ridiculous, in my honest opinion.

As you all know, I never get into politics here on my blog, and I want to keep it that way. I just thought this would be some good blog material. Nice and entertaining. :)

Have a great day!

9.19.2012

You can call me four eyes!

Remember back when I let y'all know about the awesomeness that is GlassesUSA.com?

When I went to the eye doctor this past year, my prescription changed a bit. (I'm going blind, I swear!) So, I had to order new glasses to fit my current Rx.

I was more than happy when I had the opportunity to get fashionable and affordable eyeglasses from the people at Glasses USA.

If you're in the market to buy glasses, I definitely recommend them!



Oh hi, I'm a little dorky, but that's OK because my prescription eyeglasses look good on me! ;)

Not only do they have MANY options to choose from, but they also have a virtual mirror. It's so awesome because you can upload a picture of yourself and "try on" any pair you want! How fun is that?!
 

The people at Glasses USA are so wonderful, that they've offered a discount code for you guys!

Take 15% off your entire order amount + FREE shipping (orders over $50). Code: FS15
Take 10% off any order of prescription glasses. Code: Blog10

 

9.11.2012

Model Bink

I have a super sweet friend whose boyfriend is a photographer. His stuff is amazing. They have all these great pictures around their apartment that he shot himself. 

I wish I were as talented as he is.

One night, I had Binky over there with me, they have 2 other dogs too.

Adam was playing with his camera, and just shooting away. I got an email from Kelly this week with the pics. I love them so much that I just had to share with y'all!








Is he seriously not the cutest little thing? I love how photogenic he is! He always looks when you have the camera out, and doesn't act crazy. He actually stays still. I basically have the perfect dog. :)

I am having a hard time deciding which I like best to frame - so help me!

Which frame of Binky is your favorite?

8.07.2012

You Asked, I Answered!

Remember way back when I did this post? No? I didn't think so.. I forgot too.

Well, I was going to do a vlog answering these questions, but y'all don't wanna see that and my voice totally gets on my own nerves, so I am going to answer them in print form.

Here we go...

Meg asked:
What is the bravest thing you've ever done?
I think taking a chance an going to MA school when what I really wanted to do was RN. I took a chance by doing it and getting my foot in the door. I wanted to gain experience, and allow myself to absorb more knowledge before taking the leap into nursing school. It worked out wonderfully, and I am very happy I did it.

Rebekah asked:
If you could go anywhere in the world where would you go?


I would go on a European vacation. It's always been a dream of mine to visit just about every country that Europe has to offer. If it was affordable, I would take a month off of work and just GO and do everything I could possibly do in that one month.

Heather asked:
When the heck are you coming to H-town for a Hoecake convention?!


That's a good question. I'd love nothing more than to meet my fellow hoecake!!! Plus, there are so many other bloggers that live in Houston that I'd love to meet. I just know we'd have a blast. Let's get to planning. ;)

Anna asked:
I see in your 'about me' part that you're an aspiring nurse? my question: where are you at in that process? (I love meeting fellow nurse bloggers!)


I still have a few more pre-reqs I need to finish, (I'd say maybe a semester or 2) before I can actually apply to the nursing program. The more I've been thinking about it lately, I'm wondering if I should go LVN to bridge over to RN. But that's still undecided. I am meeting with my advisor this week to enroll in a class for the fall semester and hopefully they can give me more insight on what my best option is.

Jennifer asked:
Where is one place you'd love to live besides where you are now?


I really love Pennsylvania. It's where my mom grew up, and I still have family there. It's so beautiful and I have some fond memories of being there with my grandparents as a child. It's always been considered a second "home" for me. I love it there.

Heather asked:
Favorite food ever?


Italian food. Hands down. I am a carbaholic. I would eat my weight in pasta and bread if it wouldn't kill me first. But at least I'd die a happy woman. ;)

What's the best book you've ever read?

The Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes by Diane Chamberlain. It's SUCH a good book, and I haven't met one person who didn't enjoy it. If you haven't already, pick it up. You won't regret it.

Viki asked:
What made you want to start a blog?

I came across one on a boring day at work, and I decided I could do that too. I wanted a place to keep my thoughts, and I thought what better way than to keep it all in an online archive. So then, my blog was born.


Krystal asked:
What's your favorite singer?

I don't really have a "favorite" - I like all types of music. It really just depends on my mood. I will listen to just about anything!

What concert has been the best that you've ever gone to?

Toss up between Incubus - they were amazing live, and that concert holds precious memories for me, and Journey - now that was a bad ass concert. They were awesome, and how many people my age can say they've seen Journey live? ;)

How do you order your coffee?

At Starbucks, I get a venti iced coffee 8 pumps classic syrup with extra non-fat milk. It's delish, and perfectly sweetened! Before y'all go thinking I am a sugar addict, the venti already comes with 6 pumps, I just add 2 extra because I like a little coffee with my cream and sugar. ;)

Have you ever been to Florida? When are you planning your next Florida vacation... ;)


I have actually never been to Florida! I've always wanted to go though. Can I crash with you? :)

Kelly asked:
What is your favorite go-to outfit? Extra points? Show us a picture of it!! ;-)


My go-to outfits are always very simple. I try and be cute/trendy but comfort is honestly the most important to me. I know they say "beauty is pain" - well not in my book! If I'm not comfortable, I'm not happy. So most of the time when I'm not in my scrubs for work, you'll see me in a sundress or maxi dress or some simple jean shorts with a simple tank top. I was going to show y'all some pics (for extra points!) but I can't find any decent pics that show my whole outfit. I guess I should start taking more of those! :)

Thanks for the questions y'all - maybe next time I'll do a vlog. ;)

6.20.2012

Summer Time = Yummy Drinks!


We all know that summer time is my favorite time of the year, yes?


Being a Texas girl where temperatures in the 100s are nothing new, I enjoy having a nice, cold and refreshing drink in hand if I have to suffer through the temperatures.


I recently saw Michelob Ultra Light Cider on the shelves at my local grocery stores, and I thought it sounded perfect for lounging by the pool.


Lucky for me, I was contacted to participate in the BlogHer Michelob Ultra Light Cider Promotion with BlogHer.com. I love to review anything but especially adult beverages. ;)




I LOVED this. Obviously - as I had almost finished my drink before I remembered to take a picture. ;)


I've always been a fan of cider, but this was just so delicious! It was so incredibly crisp. Just the way a cider should be!


It was perfectly sweet and is diet friendly at only 120 cals per serving, and it's gluten-free. Now that's something we can all love, right?


I drank this straight out of the bottle, but it would also be just as tasty if served over ice. To read more about this drink, click here.


So, tell me - Which favorite summer meal or activity do you think would go best with Michelob ULTRA Light Cider?

9.09.2011

Celebrity Couples - yay or nay?

While at dinner with one of my best friends, the topic came up of celebrity couples that we don't like together, (and vice versa).

This conversation started when I asked if she had heard that Ryan Gosling and Eva Mendes were together.

Yes, I couldn't believe it either people.

Exhibit A:
This is a couple I don't like together. Yep, I said it. I'm not Eva Mendes' biggest fan, and she may only be 6 years older than him, but she looks a lot older than that to me. He's gorgeous, he should probably be with me anyway. ;)

Brad Pitt & Angelina Jolie
I'm sorry but Brad Pitt & Jennifer Aniston looked WAY better together. I was a fan of Angelina's until this whole shabang went down. TEAM ANISTON!

Jennifer Lopez & Marc Anthony
Yes, I know they are getting a divorce, and maybe that's good because they just don't fit well together. He seems way too laid back for her, and they aren't even cute together.

Faith Hill & Tim McGraw
Even if you don't listen to country music, you know who this couple is and they are ADORABLE! They seem like such a genuinely sweet couple & are perfect together.

Ben Affleck & Jennifer Garner
Are they not precious?! I know, I think so too. Love them. I love that the girl next door got the hottie.

Ryan Phillippe & Reese Witherspoon
I know they have been over for years now, but I loved them together. They're both so beautiful (Reese is my fave!) and let's face it - they make gorgeous children.

7.29.2011

Who do you think you are to judge me?

Let me start out by saying that I'm not writing this post because I feel the need to explain myself.. I'm writing this post because I have a lot of things I need to get off my chest.

You guys know that I like to keep it light and sunshine-y here, but....

I am SO sick and tired of people questioning my relationship.

It's no one's business when we are going to move in together or get engaged.

What makes you think you can assume that we're not "going anywhere" or that we're afraid of commitment because we don't live together already?

And, for the record, there's nothing wrong with the fact that after almost 3 years together, we still don't live with one another.

We move at OUR pace, NOT yours, and if you don't like that, then that is your problem.

Our relationship is perfect, okay no one's relationship is perfect, but it is perfect for US, and that is all that matters.

Since day one we have done things on our time, not by the timing that society thinks we should do it.

We didn't say "I Love You" until we had been together for 10.5 months.

GASP!

We take our relationship seriously, and that's one of the main reasons we take things slow.

We want to appreciate everything and KNOW that it's what we want before we rush into anything and regret it.

Rushing into things may work for everyone else, but from past experience, it doesn't work well with us.

We may usually only see each other on the weekends, and MAYBE if we're lucky, once during the week.

This does not mean that I'm his weekend fling or that he is mine.

It means that we know how to have "me time" and "friend time", Not just "us time". Which are very important things in a relationship, in my opinion.

Plus, we have totally different work schedules.

In saying that, I get along with my boyfriend probably better than I do anyone else.

We don't fight all that often, and if we do it's not over stupid petty things that one of us picked a fight about because we were irritated for no reason at all.

I also look forward to seeing him. It's fun and I still get the butterflies driving to his place on Fridays after work from not seeing him all week.

That's because my head isn't stuck up his ASS, and ya know what? THAT'S OKAY!

So, the next person to say, "If y'all haven't committed yet, then it's never going to happen" is going to get a swift kick in the ass.

You've been warned.


Disclaimer: On Monday, I'll be back to my cheery self. ;)


2.24.2011

I need your ideas!

I told myself I wouldn't get all debbie downer on you guys, and I'll try not to make this a terribly depressing post. But ya know, sometimes you just have those days or weeks, whatever, where you feel DOWN and I'm stuck in a rut.

Lately, I've been feeling SUPER down. It kinda started when I moved out on my own again.

Now, I know I said I was really ready to get out of my dad's again, and don't get me wrong, I am glad I did get my own place. I LOVE it. But I feel really alone, and the fact that I don't have cable or internet yet intensifies the fact that I'm alone. As lame as that sounds, it's true.

When I get off work, I don't want to go home, because I know I'm going to be BORED. When I'm bored, I think. I don't like to think, I like to DO.

I know the majority of people like a big chunk of their day/time to be "alone time". I'm one of the rare people that aren't like that. I don't crave alone time. I thrive off of being around other people. I actually prefer it. I enjoy it.

I am getting back in school, and have been planning on it. The fact that I'm alone is making me move the process even faster.

So tell me, friends - do you live alone? Or if you have before, what did you do to occupy your time?

On a side note (and a happier one too!) ;) Aubrey over at High Heeled Love is having an awesome giveaway that I'm really excited about, and I'd just DIE if I won! :)


Go check it out!

9.30.2010

Pro-life or Pro-choice?

So, I normally don't like to get all political or in debate about things on my blog. However, today I drove past some protesters, and I just can't stop thinking about them!

On my way to the dreaded library, (UGH!) I pass by an abortion clinic. I've passed by this place a couple of times, and always noticed people outside, but never really paid much attention.

I guess I'm just too glued to my BlackBerry and jammin' out to my tunes to notice my surroundings.

Yes, I text AND Facebook while driving. Sue me! I get enough flack about this from the BF!

Anyhow!

Today, I actually noticed that they were holding signs, and they offered numbers for pregnant women who needed assistance, and things of that sort. But there were also signs that made these women feel bad, I'm sure. Such as "Women who abort usually regret".

Which may be true, but let the poor woman who's obviously in a dire situation realize this on her own.

This is a topic I've always been on the fence on.

I, myself, don't think I could EVER abort a child that I created. However, I know many people who have done this, two of the women being two of the closest to me, and I do not judge anyone who makes this decision.

I also am not a fan of abortion when it's just because, "oops the condom broke" or "omg I'm too young and can't afford a baby". My belief in that situation is, if you're grown enough to lay down and spread your legs, then you're grown enough to raise the outcome!

We are all entitled to our own opinions, right?

I know there are circumstances in which a woman was drugged and/or raped, those are more understandable. Either way, I do not judge. I just have my own belief.

I do however, give MAD props to the protesters. Some people hate them, honk at them, yell at them, but I have respect for people who have such a strong belief in something, (anything, not just abortion) that they will let it be known no matter the consequences.

Whew, now that I've gotten that off my chest, I can enjoy the rest of my half day off from work! ;)

P.S. I realize there are plenty of people who are going to disagree with me, and that's fine. It's expected, but this is my blog, and if you want to bash me, well don't do it here. I'm open to hearing your opinion, but don't hate me for mine.


LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...